First Generation Firebird
Posted By: KenG muncie 4 speed speedometer output. - 12/21/12 12:44 AM
Hey folks. I am new to the form and have spent the last few days researching and trying to answer a transmission question with ne luck. I am working on a 1967 Firebird 400 4 speed car. The transmission was missing so I am in the process of finding a replacement. It was orginally a M20 wide ratio. The confusion is what side does the speedometer cable attatch to. The earily generation Camaro's were on the passenger side however my transmission shop tell me that Pontiac's were on the drivers side. The few pics I can find on the internet I have seen both under Firebirds. Can anyone tell me the correct side for a 67?
Mines # matching(all original).
Its on the drivers side.
Posted By: Firebob Re: muncie 4 speed speedometer output. - 12/21/12 08:56 PM
Pass side in 69. I think the last one had a 64-66 case and it was the same.
[img]http://im1.shutterfly.com/media/47b7dd29b3127ccec0c592bfce5900000010O08BcNW7ly0bg9vPgY/cC[/img]
Posted By: ho4spdtogo Re: muncie 4 speed speedometer output. - 12/23/12 02:15 AM
my 68 is # match and the dr side is the linkage side and the pass is the area where the cable mounts into.
Hate to see this happen...why stated what my 67 came with from the factory.
But...just to clearify.
ALL 67-69 FB's(4spd w/Muncie's) used the same extn hsg, and the speedo drive was on drivers side.
Posted By: Firebob Re: muncie 4 speed speedometer output. - 12/26/12 08:38 PM
Well, I don't know about that. My orig trans was swapped out before I got the car so I can't say what was put in but I can't imagine someone going to all the trouble to install the wrong replacement in the early 70s when they were so easy to get. And then having to change the speedo cable to a longer one to reach all the way to the other side.