First Generation Firebird
Posted By: thedad Rear End Interchangeability Question - 08/02/19 12:37 PM
I have a '67 Firebird and wonder if I can swap out my rear end for one out of a 1977 TA. I know I've seen this around here somewhere but I can't find it. Too, I've been traveling extensively for the last several years and have probably asked about this before, but I'm about 6 months from retirement and am refocusing my life on my life and not my [censored] job so please, forgive me for repeating myself and thanks in advance for your help!
Posted By: Firebob Re: Rear End Interchangeability Question - 08/02/19 01:11 PM
Dad, congrats on making to retirement. I, myself, have 3 1/2 weeks left and frequently tell people who ask, what are you going to do then?, that I have so much to do that I don't have time for a job anymore.

As to your question...of course you can swap a later assembly in but of course there are adjustments that must be made. Mounting points and spring position have to be modified. Also it is more than likely a different width rear so possible wheel change and back spacing has to be considered. Definitately not a direct bolt in.
Posted By: Hank350 Re: Rear End Interchangeability Question - 08/02/19 01:23 PM
The 2nd gen rear will only require having the spring perches repositioned. The width difference is only a quarter inch or so.
I'm retired a couple of years now and loving it. Enjoy!